Google+

LA Love

2

February 2, 2013 by tvo320

Before heading to the other side of the world, I made a pitstop in Los Angeles to visit my awesome sister, Lonnie and dear friend, Jenni. I was fortunate to see my dear Princess friend, Rita too! 🙂 We’ve had such a fun and relaxed weekend before my long flight on Monday.

Yesterday, Lonnie and I ran around picking up a few last minute items that I needed. I have received a lot of advice to brings clothes, make-up, and electronics because it’s quite expensive in Australia. I have heard that mascara costs four times as much in Australia as it does in the States. Once I am over there, I will definitely do some research and share my results on cost of living! After running around, she took me to the best massage I have ever had!!! We went to Five Star Foot Massage and if you don’t care about the ambience and don’t mind having your clothes on, you will love this place! My lady was fantastic and we had come for the foot massage but I felt that I had received a full body massage. Lonnie said that I passed out during my massage and she was right. I felt so relaxed after leaving.

Before I Passed Out

Before I Passed Out

Today, we visited the Griffith Observatory (GO) and the Getty Villa (GV) in Malibu! No matter how many times I have come to see Lonnie in LA, there is always something to do. Lonnie lives really close to the GO and it’s a great place to go hiking as well. There were so many people in workout clothes with friends, dogs, and frisbees. My favorite part is hearing so many different languages in the crowds. We arrived just in time to see the Tesla Coil at work. It was a beautiful day out and Lonnie thought visiting the GV would be great too.  Admission is free but you have to have an advance, timed-entry ticket to enter! You can’t just show up. We called and were lucky to get the last entry of the day (3pm). I could roam the villa all day! The herb garden was one of our favorite places to explore and we loved the mosaic fountain so much.

The Griffith Observatory

The Griffith Observatory

Mosaic Fountain at the Getty Villa

Mosaic Fountain at the Getty Villa

The Getty Villa

The Getty Villa

Lonnie also took me to see the Venice Canals before dropping me off to spend the night at Jenni’s. Many of the houses had little canoes on the water right behind their house. It was darling! They had bridges to walk over every few blocks. The scenery was just so picturesque. We could have walked around a lot more if not for the lack of parking! Lonnie is so full of life and I love that she’s not only one of my bestest friends but she’s my sister. She’s always watching out for me and is awesome. 🙂 She doesn’t let anything get her down and she is always ready for the next adventure whether it’s shopping or more shopping!

Venice Canals

Venice Canals

My friend Jenni and I met on the first day of school in Japan while we were studying abroad at Kansai Gaidai University and have stayed besties ever since. We had a fun evening catching up and cooking dinner together. My friend Rita, whom I met while being Cherry Blossom Princesses in DC wanted to get together so we all had dinner together. We cooked feta and spinach stuffed salmon, coucous and dill stuffed salmon, a killer salad, and toasted rosemary rolls! My cheese tray rocked as well with raw milk cheese, blueberry vanilla goat cheese, fresh mozzarella, and more goat cheese! 🙂

Cheese Tray

Cheese Tray

Salmon, Salad, and Rosemary Rolls

Salmon, Salad, and Rosemary Roll

Jenni and I

Jenni and I

Rita and I

Rita and I

We all had a common thread of Thailand and rehashed fun stories with one another. True friends are hard to come by and I am so blessed to have amazing, inspiring, and beautiful ones! Thank you ladies for making my trip so fabulous.

2 thoughts on “LA Love

  1. Cindi says:

    So glad you had an awesome time in LA!!’

Leave a Reply

University of Queensland- MGPP

Months Until GraduationJuly 24th, 2014
Living each day to the fullest in Australia!

Australian Adventures

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,305 other followers

