Google+

Search for the Perfect Home

2

February 17, 2013 by tvo320

Oh what a journey it has been trying to find housing here in Brisbane! A fellow Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar (RAS) who arrived here six months ago gave me the best advice. He recommended that I take my time to make sure I find the right fit and he couldn’t have been more right.

For those of you who have ever taken a trip, can you relate to the difficulty of living out of a suitcase? I found it a challenge to feel at home. I am trying to not to lose important articles from my suitcase and keep my dirty and clean clothes separated. I’ve been so fortunate though because my Rotary host parents, Alan and Sandy opened up their beautiful home to me and let me stay with them. They said that I could stay with them until I found a place but of course I didn’t want to overstay my welcome.

They live in Petrie which is north of the city and about 90 minute (by train and bus) to the University of Queensland (UQ). It’s been a blast getting to school and back but boy has it been fantastic in teaching me how to use the trains and buses. They live on acreage that is just absolutely beautiful and green. They have koala bears who climb the trees in their yard. I saw it with my own four eyes. It was a lovely place and I am forever grateful to them for opening up their home to me and making me feel welcome.

My Rotary host family's house

My Rotary host family’s house

Prior to coming to Australia, I had already been searching various places to live. UQ is fantastic and has an online databases where only UQ students can search for shared accommodations. It is called UQRentals and I thank my lucky stars to them. Quite a few places were available and I was able to create a shortlist. Even with many possibilities, I still felt overwhelmed. My fellow RAS sent me an e-mail with a housing opportunity in Auchenflower and I also searched for housing on RealEstate.com.au, domain.com.au, and Easy Roommate. I booked appointments and saw some questionable locations and interesting houses. Some rooms were in very poor condition and I was not about to do my laundry under the house. Now that I think about it, I wish I had taken a few photos to show.

After seeing seven places, my search for the perfect home had been found! I decided to go back on UQRentals and take another look at the listings. I clicked on a new posting and KNEW that I had to see this place after read the listing and looking at the photos. The photos online were true to what I saw them in person! 🙂 My new home will be in Moorooka which is about four miles south of Brisbane’s central business district (CBD). I’ll be able to catch the bus to school which makes me super happy! It is only a fifteen minute walk to the train station as well.

I’m currently sharing with two other ladies who are also students. Rosanne is Australian and Evonne is Taiwanese. The are both so nice and I am excited to get to know them more.  I’m getting excited to settle in and finally unpack all my bags! WOO HOO!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Home Sweet Home in Moorooka

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Landscape

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stairs Heading to the Front Door

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Entrance

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Balcony!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Living Room

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dining Room

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kitchen

Now that I have found my home, if you ever want to send me some snail mail or a package, let me know and I will forward you my address! 🙂 Did you enjoy the photos of my new home? You will notice that there are no photos of my bedroom because it’s currently being decorated. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Search for the Perfect Home

  1. Oluchi says:

    Hi TVo!!! I’m so happy you found a new place. Thanks for emailing us with updates; we’ve been praying for you, and I’m so happy to see that you’re settling in nicely! I miss you so much, but am looking forward to keeping up with you through your blog, via email (when I’m not being a terrible correspondent), and via snail mail. Now that you’ve got an official address, I can’t wait to send you a care package!
    Lots of love!

    • tvo320 says:

      Lulu! I’m so happy too. I only wish that you could come over so we could have our cooking extravaganzas. I miss the world out of you too. Yeah! I CANNOT wait to receive a care package. Couldn’t be more blessed to have you in my life. xoxo

Leave a Reply

University of Queensland- MGPP

Months Until GraduationJuly 24th, 2014
Living each day to the fullest in Australia!

Australian Adventures

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,305 other followers

